Solitude

I enjoy slipping away alone when I can (with my wife’s permission, of course). Although I can never go too far away from my commitments, I’ve learned to take walks, contemplate and check on my being. I have many good times being alone in reflection, though there are a fair amount of those times where I don’t like what I see. I guess being honest to myself is an important ingredient to that, and it helps me to want to do something about it. Other than that, I usually take pleasure to do something I delight in with the limited time alone. Maybe that’s why I enjoy basketball and photography – a sport where I can be alone and still enjoy shooting the hoops and an art form which allows me to move around by myself and appreciate the scenes around me (above shot taken at the waterfront today, yet again…).

Being alone should not be mistaken for being lonely. I can think of many benefits of spending time alone but can’t think of one about being lonely. The former gives us the mental frame to make adjustments to our lives. It is that essential space where we find rest to reenergise ourselves and also empowers us to be creative and establishes our foundation as an individual. In our erratically-paced modern lifestyles, being alone has become an important aspect of mental well-being. If you are someone who seeks companionship all the time, may I introduce you to a good friend and a great confidante. You will sure do well if you call on this friend from time to time. Its name is solitude. πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Solitude

Leave a Reply

