Irony Of Parenthood

When my daughter was little, the toll of looking after her had me wishing she’d grow up fast and faster. She is our only child and I was her only playmate at home. I hung in there over countless playtime, bearing the weight of afterwork tiredness, hoping to give her some decent childhood memories. She’s a youth now, and I should be glad (I am), but whenever I took a photo like this, I found myself hoping I could go back and enjoy her at that stage again. Such, is the irony of parenthood. It may be painful but enjoy it while it lasts. I guarantee you’ll miss it. 

Leave a Reply

